Poets logo

Goodbye My Love

Addiction

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Goodbye My Love
Photo by Lars Kuczynski on Unsplash

Enough my love,

I have waited long enough.

Five earth rotations have passed,

I can see that it was for naught.

*

Addiction is still there,

as I watched from a distance

I could see

the hold of drink is heavy.

*

I know you love me,

yet I can’t be healthy

as I watch you fill yourself

with your favorite drink.

*

A stumble caused chaos

as you nearly fell into a fire.

A friend watching

rescued you from the flame.

*

No my love,

five years did not make

any difference at all.

No my love, No.

*

Cutting this cord

will bring you clarity.

One option off the table,

will bring you freedom.

*

A tear forms

in my soul.

Rolls from the depths

and onto my cheek.

*

Where once kisses

were placed,

is now being cleansed

one tear at a time.

*

I shall miss you

but not the drunk you,

not the uncontrolled you.

not the chaotic you.

*

I will miss

the adventures,

the midnight conversation,

and the special moments.

*

You mattered to me

but the drink mattered

more than us.

Addiction does that.

*

I have waited.

I can no longer do so.

I have to be,

good to me too.

*

Good bye my love.

I forgive you.

The illness of addiction

is the one to blame.

heartbreak
10

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.