Poets logo

Goodbye

Dedicated to one of the almost maybes…

By Alexander McEvoyPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
9
Image Generated by AI

Don’t you cry and please believe,

It was best for me to leave.

So far we have come together,

Through the months and tears and stormy weather.

Remember me with fondness please,

And that I left with shaking knees.

Certainty in times like these is hard to find,

Though it offers those who can some peace of mind.

I never wanted to say goodbye,

Or be the one who made you cry.

Now it's done and for the best. Goodbye, my dearest.

sad poetryheartbreak
9

About the Creator

Alexander McEvoy

Writing has been a hobby of mine for years, so I'm just thrilled to be here! As for me, I love writing, dogs, and travel (only 1 continent left! Australia-.-)

I hope you enjoy what you read and I can't wait to see your creations :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    Oh this oozes with sadness, but it’s lovely 🥰

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    I agree with Veronica. A different perspective. Loved it.

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    We always write poems about being left and rarely write one about leaving. Well done! 😉

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    It's never easy to say goodbye! Nice poem!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Pure and raw!!! Superbly written!!! ❤️💕Tearfully 😢

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    A round of applause! poetry is weird in that it makes sadness so beautiful. Well done.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Alex, this was a beautiful letter of farewell. It was kind and considerate with raw emotions. Very beautiful poem and touching sentiment within. Well written and a lot of thought put into it, great work! 💜

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    I hope it went as sweetly as this ♥️

  • I was in a similar situation 2 months back where he told me the same things as he left. I want to believe that it hurts him like it does me but I just can't. Loved your poem so much!

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    My heart broke. This is so raw and emotional! Love this piece very much.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.