Poets logo

Good In Me

An Epiphany

By Earl W. PearlPublished 13 days ago Updated 13 days ago 1 min read
3

Created with so little good

I reconciled with what I’m not

The good I once misunderstood

I chase because I haven’t got

The tiny good I had at birth

My fleshly “tent” could not contain

I’ve little value on this earth

Unless what’s good I might regain

There now resides a pain within

Not physically, but of the “heart”

What’s good reveals the pain as sin

This sin a force that pulls apart

The once held fast mistakes I made

Though I embraced, I now repent

What’s Good now offers me in trade

A “mansion” for my battered “tent”

I understand now why and how

It’s not by works I’m justified

Sins past and future, pardoned now

As once again there’s Good inside

Stream of Consciousness
3

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) since about 2014 and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk6 days ago

    Amen!!!

  • Manisha Dhalani12 days ago

    I'm not sure I get what you really mean (sorry, slow day), but it was a wonderfully written poem, Earl.

  • Rowan Finley 13 days ago

    Beautiful thoughts!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.