Poets logo

Good Deeds

This poem is about trying to help someone that does not want help. It’s also about giving up on them and leaving them to their own vices.

By Amanda ZylstraPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

My good intentions went down the drain.

No good deed goes unpunished.

You were determined to misunderstand me.

You were set out to disagree.

An apology will fall on deaf ears.

It means nothing if you are not sorry for your actions.

I drew a line in the sand.

I walked away.

I vowed to never cross that line again.

I know what is good for my sanity.

I felt like I was suffocating when I was around you.

I was drowning in the ocean.

I can still taste the salt water on my breath.

I could be vague, but that is not my style.

That will not tell my story to those who listen with open ears and an open mind.

I reached my limit.

I had to say goodbye.

I had to stop trying to help you better yourself.

If you are determined to set yourself on fire,

I can’t keep hiding your gas can.

I am only slowing down events that will happen no matter what I do.

If you are determined to burn,

I have to let you.

The war is over or maybe it just began?

I stopped caring who got the last word in.

I stopped wasting my time and my breath on words you were determined to misunderstand no matter how I worded them.

No matter how much I tiptoed around the truth.

I tried being vague.

It made my tongue bleed from biting down so hard.

I learned to forgive, but I will not forget.

I wish healing to those who have wronged me.

The mind can be an awful place.

A place where no one else understanding your reasoning or why you act the way that you do.

Take a step back and reevaluate.

None of this was ever about me.

It was always about you.

My good deeds will not go unpunished.

*This poem is featured in "Peeling Sanity" Due for release in October 2018. Be sure to check out my other poetry collections on Amazon.

Check out my Author Page on Facebook!

Check out my Poetry!

Check out my Music Articles!

Check out my Beauty Articles!

Check out my Makeup Articles!

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Zylstra

Cat Lover, Poetry Writer, Tea Drinker, Skincare and Beauty Product Obsessed. Check out my poetry collection "Passing Skeletons" available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.