Poets logo

Golden Traveler

The chronicles of a sane madman

By Syed Arabi KhaliquePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
3
The Golden traveler walks again

Many have called me the Sleepless, but I am the Golden traveler.

Whose feet have crossed 10,000 miles, the dream's conqueror.

But of names I have no use, still they were given to me unrequired,

And I search for love wanted, yet I remain undesired.

Tell me of this strange that everyone is looking for, but no one has found, as far as I can see.

That all songs and stories are filled with, but remains a myth, at least for me.

Such is the unfairness of our world, that it might hand you what you need but not what you covet.

That the bright moonlit nights would welcome you, when you wait for the sunset.

As I walk through such unforgiving nights, folks ask me

"Oh traveler! Oh traveler! what do you desire?"

I desire the affection of a maiden, of a friend, of a stranger, just like everyone else.

Many have called me the Sleepless, but I am the Golden traveler.

Whose feet have crossed 10,000 miles, the dream's conqueror.

I tell tales long forgotten to people who wish to hear

Of heroes and their fights against evil overseers.

Power resides in stories, entire souls can be contained within,

Hence I go on my journey through the strange world unseen.

To capture these narratives in the vial of my mind,

The likes of which few can find.

For this, I walk through unforgiven nights, while folks ask

"Oh traveler! Oh traveler! what do you see?"

I see a mirror in the sea and it is calling back to me.

Many have called me the Sleepless, but I am the Golden traveler.

Whose feet have crossed 10,000 miles, the dream's conqueror.

Through utter horrors have I walked on the north side, a glimpse of which only the foulest of nightmares have captured,

And on the south side I bore witness to the birth of a monster, whose coming brings forth the doom and the rupture.

Yet for all the pain in the world, I would walk anew,

Because who in their right mind can deny adventure, not anyone of you.

For love that was never found, for tales that were never told and for sights that might be forever hidden from humanity,

I walk through these unforgiving nights, as folks ask me,

"Oh traveler! Oh traveler! where do you go?"

I go as far as my eyes can see and then 5 miles more.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Syed Arabi Khalique

I am a guy from Jersey who is trying to put down in words what nightmares afflict him, hoping that will somewhat sweeten the deadly ordeal.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Xero Hekathos2 years ago

    Always the romantic. Keep up the good work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.