Poets logo

Golden Fishy Crackers

His childhood treat.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
14

Fishy in the water,

Fishy in the sea,

Fishy from a bag,

Fishy made of cheese.

 

Fishy just so golden,

Fishy oh so yum,

Fishy so delicious,

Fishy in my tum.

 

Fishy oh so crunchy,

Fishy just a cracker,

Fishy for my husband,

Fishy for the snacker.

 

Authors Note:

I wrote this for my husband because his favourite childhood snack was/ is gold fish crackers.

For FunFamily
14

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Sounds fishy! Lol. Seriously though, this brought me back. I love crackers in general. Goldfish and Cheezits were the favorites growing up. Loved your whimsical poem.

  • Thavien Yliaster2 months ago

    Adorably childlike like, and I read the entire thing in a little kids voice in my head. Gold fish hit different, especially the extra sharp cheddar. The multi-colored ones are great. I'd pour a bunch in a glass as a kid/teenager and pour them in my mouth from time-to-time while chilling and watching TV shows. Hey, no cheesy fingers. Why let any of that cheesy, salty, goodness go to waste? Easier to eat them in a cup unlike Cheetos or Doritos. Crush those up in a bag and dump them in Your pie hole. Makes life cleaner easily. Lowkey, now I can see You torturing Your husband by swimming a goldfish cracker through the air to his mouth, and he's saying "Awww" with a mouth agape, and just as it's cheesy goodness is about to hit his tongue, You pull it away and eat the snack just to mess with him. It's the perfect crime, but do it too many times and You might end up on the first 48 or worst, "Jogger's Trail." Alaric: "Why are we deciding to eat this one?" Madra: "She kept eating his gold fish crackers like how Lucy pulls the football away to Charlie Brown." Nakos: "In all my years I've never heard of such an irredeemable evil. We must purge the world from this sinner at once." Mendel: "Agreed." Tesha: "Hey guys, what'cha cookin'? No! Not on my fine China! It's the last thing my mother left me in her will!"

  • My son's favorite snack growing up was Goldfish, they're still a staple in my house. Great poem Donna!

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    My kiddo loved/ loves them still.They are imported and sold in the international aisle at the bigger grocery stores. They aren't cheap in Sweden for sure! Very cute diddy!

  • Awww, this was so sweet! I'm sure he would have loved this poem! I really loved the way this rhymed, it was very fun! I've never had these goldfish crackers but I've had cheese crackers before. I'm just not a fan. Don't get me wrong, I loveeeeee cheese but these crackers just ain't doing it for me. Do you like them? I immensely enjoyed your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    I will always pass on this but I loved your poem about them!

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Haha! This was so good. Could also go a snack right now!

  • ema2 months ago

    Now I want Fishy made of cheese! 😁 So funny, well done!

  • Mark Gagnon2 months ago

    I have a bag sitting on my desk. Great snack when I'm writing. maybe they could make a commercial using your piece with someone writing at a desk.

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    Love this little ditty! Your husband and I have something in common. I used to go through tons of Goldfish.

  • Donna Renee2 months ago

    Hahahaha this is so clever and I’m cracking up 🤣🤣

  • JBaz2 months ago

    I love the literary freedom you used with this line. 'Fishy in my tum.' This is a fun read and brought a smile to my lips on a dreary Monday morning.

  • Alexander McEvoy2 months ago

    Oh, I always LOVED goldfish crackers! For some reason, once you said "Fishy for the snacker" I started thinking about the other use of that word. About the lack of trust one places in things and describes them as 'fishy'... there's something there I think. Since we don't fully understand all the preservatives lol Awesome poem, Donna!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.