Poets logo

Gold and Silver

Ivy skies

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Running inside a lake

each step in underwater world

is slow

and fast,

calls time again

to have tea

and tell sand

that memories stand still,

hurt goes on too long

and the joy

lasts but a heartbeat

in the night.

***

Why can't it be sunny

inside the mauve,

can I touch orange morning light

above, beyond,

following candle soaring in the wind,

waves told stories of mirror

that keeps hope trapped

inside a wish,

that won't let go

unless you learn the words,

unless you find love

at the right time.

***

How will I dwell

inside this place,

is it a nightmare

or awake

I make my doom,

I take away each trace

of kindness, passion,

untold wish,

yearning I never dared

to voice?

***

Will it be gone

with me,

will waves close in on last word

and song

left to roam this world in blue night

where nothing walks hand in hand

with the sharks,

fate at its best

inside a tale

that never said

what came to pass.

***

Where did I leave my sighs,

why can't I see

the shore, an island,

somewhere to rest

tired brow needing petals,

a way to see home

once again?

***

I call the wind,

hail answers

and the thunder

keeps blooming above sill,

no one to love

or love back, dark abyss

where do I go,

can I still fly

on this wave or the next?

***

Breathing through gale,

wringing heart out of longing

I glimpse a light

it moves, it dances,

it comes near,

it beckons into ivy,

a warm embrace tells me

I am exactly where I wished

to be.

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

Photo credit: Pexels

O

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.