Poets logo

Going Dancing

#VocalNPM

By Erin GouldingPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I haven't moved in decades.

I haven't truly moved

I wake up from nights in a new place

Sleepwalking, sleep wandering

My body's silent cry for something.

I have dreams of bright lights,

Of aching muscles and dizziness

Of dancing too close to you again

Too close to be coincidence.

I wake with bit lips and tired eyes

And memories of strangers

And a feeling that this world is the dream

And my sleep is my reality

And then I still don't move.

I haven't moved in centuries

I think this version of me doesn't know how

This body can't remember what it was meant to do

The soul trapped somewhere it wasn't meant to be.

It's more tiring than dancing, sitting still

Atrophied and ancient from neglect

I will close my eyes and dream again.

Dreams of breath on my neck

Of too-tight shoes that just look so good

Of smiles in stuffy rooms and sweaty air

Warmth I wouldn't tolerate anywhere else

And I will stay there

Until I'm ready to wake up

Or maybe until I fall asleep again.

I am still not moving,

Until reality becomes the dream that feels like me

And I can say to myself,

"I'm ready to go dancing again."

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Erin Goulding

current marketing writer, aspiring entertainment writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.