Poets logo

God is Prozac

Meditate, Medicate... Or Believe

By The RosePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Fear

Terror

War

Immorality, mortality, pain,

violence, anger, indecision, void, space,

creation, evolution, the meaning of life,

murder, rape, death, destruction,

husband and husband or husband and wife?

Emptiness, misery, distraction, corruption,

decadence, innocence, plague, vague

unanswered questions, depression,

drugs and oppression!...

GOD...

...

Suddenly life is a journey.

It's not my fault.

The human condition is destined to fail us,

this is beyond us, he put us here.

He made us frail and he made us fear.

He has his reasons.

He will protect me.

Suddenly I see that these things can't affect me.

Breathe in... breathe out...

Now I don't fear and now I don't doubt.

I took the pill.

I stuffed all the voids that were making me ill.

I filled up the cracks with a God shaped pillow,

and covered my eyes to keep it all in.

I don't have to fear 'cause I don't have to think.

I don't have to question, I just have to drink,

drink in the cool aid to swallow the pills.

Breathe in... breathe out...

Don't burst my bubble,

don't let me out...

NOW YOU!...

What is your life all about?

Drugs are bad, they make you insane.

They skew your reality, mess up your brain!

Don't have sex! At least not with him!

You must deny yourself pleasures of whim.

Don't question.

Don't think.

Don't eat that.

Don't drink.

Don't touch that.

Don't say that.

Don't feel...

...

Life is gritty,

hostile, shitty,

brutal, confusing and needlessly cold.

We have no answers.

We have no control.

Get high on ice and live on the dole,

drink 'till you vomit,

drown it in sex,

run, meditate, medicate...

Or believe...

What's the difference?

It's all just a way to relieve,

the symptoms of nature,

of power and greed,

of loneliness, emptiness, life as we know it.

Instinct.

We are just animals after all.

The universe, a cruel trick of reality.

Everyone is high.

Even you on your high horse flaunting morality!

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

The Rose

I have been writing poetry since a very young age. I don't usually share, but I thought I would get some of it out into the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.