Poets logo

Goals of a Poet

of the Transgender variety

By Tavian GonzalezPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

As The goal of a poet is to be remembered

For their poems to withstand that test of time

To be remembered and talked about

And exonerated

Maybe even lull kids to sleep in english classes while the teacher

Drones on about the tragic irony of the heroes love for the unclaimed maiden

But….that’s not what I want

My hopes in recording these words

Is that one day

My poems will not be needed

They will be forgotten

They will seem redundant

That people will question why I even wrote them

Ask “why were they necessary”

I hope, that one day,

Trans folk can exist in peace without having to scream day after day that we are worthy.

I am so tired of writing poems declaring my trans ness

So fucking sick of demanding rights not given to us

I am so beyond over screaming to ears that refuse to listen that I Am Human

I am running out of ways to convey the trauma inside caused by my own goddamn parents, people who claimed to have loved me

I’m at a loss for words on how to convey empathy to those who refuse to feel for anyone other than themselves

I do not have time to educate those who say they want to play devil’s advocate when in reality they want to spread their hatred

...

How do you convince your kidnapper not to kill you when he’s already loaded the gun and has it leveled between your eyes

How do you convince the preacher his teachings are the kidnapper, his bible the gun, his congregation the ropes he uses to keep you hostage

How can I speak life into the lifeless corpse of a being that is myself, how do I convince my brain that my body will on day match what it feels,

If only I live to see that day

How can I beg myself to put down the gun

When it’s already loaded

And leveled between my eyes.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tavian Gonzalez

Former Nebraska poet, trying to find inspiration in the seas of corn. Now adjusting to the big city life in Atlanta GA. 20, going on 80.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.