Poets logo

Glo’d Up; Soul’d Out

Movement

By Darling DJPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

sometimes I’d get lost in your brown eyes.

I’d see white lies.

It took me two and a half years to rid myself of you.

It’ll take me seven years to renew.

Seven years before my body is untainted by you.

Illusion in our eyes

blinds us all.

almost dropped outta college ‘cause of you.

Distracted.

Stagnant.

You stifled my growth.

Had me hating myself,

Thinking I’d never be loved again.

The more you fear, the less you live.

They say there’s light at the end of the tunnel…

but,

Sometimes that light feels like seeing God.

THE LIGHT

bright lights

As you rush thru traffic,

Thinking about what you could do,

That you won’t do…

You’re dying.

Everyday.

It’s an inevitable fact you have to face.

We all have souls…

We just don’t always choose to acknowledge it.

Society creates a set of standards

and expectations

for its inhabitants.

Time goes on.

Standards change with time,

As well as the environment.

When it rains,

Earth cries;

Like a cleansing,

Of all impurities.

Clarity.

Growth.

I’M FREE

you don’t control me.

I’m bound to the sky.

You,

let man confine you.

I,

reach beyond the stars.

Vast,

past what drives you.

Greed and sin.

You eat men,

fight kin.

You don’t walk in love,

But in pain

And you plague whatever you touch.

High heels.

Summer skin.

Short skirt.

Winter boots.

You can’t touch that girl.

She’s with the wind.

A breeze of cool, cool air.

That girl will take you….

Sweep you off your feet.

Sweeter than dark chocolate.

Free of milk,

Soy too.

She’s non GMO.

Unbeatable.

Wondrous woman.

Strong mind.

Stronger will.

Long legs,

that complete her stride.

Her graceful walk,

Carries her into her prophecy.

Struggles fail to hold her back

Cause she got ‘er own back

Balanced.

Complete on her own.

Sharper than a fresh blade,

She’s cut

Come for your throat,

But as sweet as pie.

Sometimes she’s shy,

Just get her high,

Higher than higher heights.

Positive force.

Eccentric.

Unbreakable.

No matter how broken she feels,

she won’t let these haters win.

Survival of the fittest.

She’s clearly still living.

She level’d up

You thought you’d see ‘er quittin’

‘cause it be rough when you living

You don’t know me anymore

No lying,

Bout what it seems.

I live in God's lap,

Cupped in her palms

Sending my love up.

Real eyes

Realize

Real lies

So, I opened my eyes.

Soul’d out.

I’m Glo’d up.

- @synquissoul

#vocalNPM

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Darling DJ

Creative.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.