Poets logo

"GLOBAL HOMELESSNESS"

"IS ONE CHECK AWAY"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 2 months ago 2 min read
9
PHOTO BY A.I. BING COPILOT

I feel drained today.

I felt okay yesterday.

Today there is a multitude of issues,

Enough to use a tissue

To cry

But why

I watched a movie on YouTube today.

It was a Lifetime movie.

I see the couple in Ireland.

No rhymes or reason

The Landlord moved them out.

I will shout.

To sell the house

The family of six lived in for years,

Before the landlord told them to move out

The homeless situation is global now.

So, how did this happen? How?

Wealthy owners and greedy corporations own multiple homes across the globe.

We now live in a world where homelessness is the norm,

Across the world

As we think the grass to be greener on the other side

Is no longer true.

That’s why I am blue,

Because in a land of multiple

Empty houses and empty buildings owned by wealthy multiple wealthy owners of the powers that be.

I see.

The truth

I see the lies.

Being homeless these days is, not because of drugs or alcohol.

But oh my

Could it be that?

We are all one paycheck away

To live like that

You look around.

I look around.

I see the truth.

I see the lies.

In disguise

The greedy realtors raise rents

Over and over with the lie

To keep up with the market value.

However, every day is another day,

To cry

When there are many couples Ike

The one in Ireland

No reason

No rhyme

But in time

We are from the dust.

To the dust we return

As the wealthy snub all

Unless they are rich like them.

I pray for relief for the homeless, the discarded folks,

the human beings of every nation, continent, and country to find a home amongst the people of this Earth.

We are dust and to dust we return,

As we drive our cars

Walk the streets,

With no names.

As the homeless become the same

As the streets with no name

The same

Across the globe

As I think about the situation

Of the globe of people on this planet of millions of humans living day by day.

These are my expressions

Of feelings, of caring

And sharing

Written by

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

March 7, 2024

Stream of ConsciousnessProseMental HealthFree VerseFamily
9

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer2 months ago

    I feel you so much on this one Vicki. Good thing that 'might' doesn't make 'right' even though many think it does.

  • Thank you Vicki for your insights and keeping our eyes open to the plights of this world.

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    So true!!! Loved your line, "Wealthy owners and greedy corporations own multiple homes across the globe." Awesome poem!!!❤️💕

  • Sadly, this is what's happening in a lot of places 🥺

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.