Poets logo

Glass Heart

By Bee

By Brenda DeherreraPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Like
Glass Heart
Photo by Olivier Collet on Unsplash

I have a heart that's

just broken glass.

I try to glue it back together,

but the glue never holds.

My heart is cold to the touch,

it leaves anyone who tries to

touch it shivering with

clattering teeth.

I've tried to warm it but

the warmth never stays long.

I have a heart that is nothing

but an onyx abyss.

When someone tries to bring

light, the darkness snuffs it out.

I have a heart that no longer

beats.

Everyone who has tried to restart

it has gone numb from the CPR.

I have a heart that no longer knows

how to love.

No one has been able to show it the

way the resistance is like moving an

anchor uphill.

I have a heart that is just pieces

of glass, opaque and empty.

Unable to be made whole.

I had a heart that was

overflowing with love

and life.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Deherrera

I'm just someone who loves to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.