Poets logo

Giving

poem

By Cara GarnerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The pale light shone across the sky.

Far in the horizon, such beauty to the eye.

The sunset setting on all upon the day.

Giving a peaceful feeling and hope that it will stay.

The orange and yellow spread throughout, bringing calm and cheer.

Giving comfort within as I reached up to wipe my tear.

Life had given twists and turns that were hard to bear.

But something went down deep as I stood out in the cool air.

My sands dug a little deeper in between my toes.

Giving hope that only Heaven knows.

The pinks and purples began to fade.

I faced the warmth of sunlight, grateful for not a moment I’d trade.

Each memory, each minute, each moment I once shared.

Each smile, each sound of laughter, each time someone cared.

The blue of the sky started to become more night.

And I looked forward to the future, for I know I’ll be alright.

The stars and moon have a beauty to them too.

Giving within a strength to see each trial through.

The clouds disappeared as the day came to an end.

The waves softly brushed against the shore.

Giving peace and comfort more than I’d known before.

Though my heart had broken at the thought of goodbye.

There was love in the pale sunset the spread in the sky.

And I knew at that moment paths I’d cross again someday.

In that golden sunset, I finally began to be okay.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Cara Garner

Enjoys writing, travel, movies, photography, being with friends and family

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.