Poets logo

Gilded Cage

- - -

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Gilded Cage
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

Alone in a gilded cage

Hands fisted in unabated rage

Smashed bloody against gilded walls

Torn nails scratch painfully at oak paneled halls

Locked away in a prison of my own making

Entered willingly, past forsaking

Silent servants pass stealthily by

Faces averted, afraid to meet my eyes

I hear their whispers, their laughs

At least they follow their own paths

They go home at night to people who care

Whilst I sit here in my lonely bejeweled chair

I thought to follow a dream of wealth

Champagne flutes, caviar, cars, health

My eyes were full of glitter, glitz, gold

Certain all this, once mine to hold

Would bring me happiness, contentment

Instead I find naught but haughty resentment

A prideful husband with hands of ice

Eyes of flint, nights of vice

He buys me the latest fashions to wear

Diamonds on my fingers, jade in my hair

Then parades me, his young trophy wife

Before leering old men with little in life

So they can be jealous of his exquisite taste

Playboy mansion runway, such a waste

A chauffeur drives me to expensive shops

No more for me thrift and swaps

I attend the orchestra, operas, the ballet

Where not a one cares what I do or say

Gone my old friends, left behind long ago

In my pride I reviled their poor souls

Told them I was achieving all I had ever wanted

Cars, mansion, clothes, wealth so vaunted

They warned me money would fall short

Perhaps I should look for a ship in a smaller port

As I stare out the window at the fine trimmed lawn

Watching gorgeous sunrise of a cloudless dawn

I know now my friends were right

My youth is wasted, I've lost my fight

I reign supreme over a silent throng

Missing the old vibrant, raucous song

I'd trade all I now have for what I didst disdain

If only I had listened to their lilting refrain

social commentarysad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 months ago

    Such a beautifully written poem but I hope this isn't what you're actually feeling or going through 🥺

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Spectacular!!! Loved it!!!

Andrew C McDonaldWritten by Andrew C McDonald

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.