Poets logo

Gifts

It's The Thought That Counts

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Gifts
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

I always used to question

when someone does something nice for me

*

Too many times

I've seen where this story leads

Accepting gifts from seemingly nice people

who's underlying intentions are selfish and greedy

*

Eyes glittering

offering me cake on a silver platter

Smiling joyfully

with a knife behind their back

*

What do they want from me?

*

My mom threw me huge birthday parties with all my friends

food, music, decorations, costumes, everything thing you could imagine

That way when I tried to tell others how cruel she was underneath

they'd say, "She's so nice. I can't see her doing those things.

Are you sure you're not overreacting?"

*

She had everyone fooled

Only I saw Mrs. Hyde when the lights went dim

*

My friend often gave me gifts and did favors for me without me even asking

That way anytime she wanted something she felt entitled to demand it

reminding me of all the good things she did for me

reminding me of how she's such a good friend

*

Any gesture of mine was never enough

and every little offering of hers she deemed the most charitable thing ever done

*

My ex boyfriend cleaned my entire car spotless for me

from the bottom of the wheels to the lining on the seats

That way he could glean more information of how to manipulate me

and see if I was hiding things from him like he was from me

*

He found out I was true

but he also found out how I be

Both he used against me

*

I always used to question

when someone does something nice for me

*

Now I don't need to question their intentions

because I'm wise enough

to pick up on the slight energetic differences

from my expanded perception

*

Now I feel the difference

between someone who genuinely cares

to offer a gift or a helping hand

and someone who is only offering me something

to hold it over my head

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.