Poets logo

Gift of a pen

A pen is a key to an endless world of possibility and adventure without limitations!

By Jose ZunigaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
8

Where do my thoughts, opinions, and judgements derive from? I believe they come from a deep place in the human soul that planted its flag on the backs of our deepest darkest secrets; along with the most precious memories of one innocent moment in time. My worst thoughts are rivaled by happy moments that somehow draw a smile on my face and let me know that everything's going to be ok. True pain brings out the best and worst in us, we want comfort because pain is a hard pill to swallow. Without pain however, can you truly appreciate happiness when it’s at your doorstep? That light that comes out of the darkness is as pure as the love God has in his heart for each and every one of us.

Writing offers me the ability to travel to a time of innocence, when life was simpler. I have the world at my fingertips, my imagination is vibrant, colorful, and excited for the next tale. When a pen is put to paper, there's endless possibilities of what the final page will read. I have the ability to transport to heavenly kingdoms, as well as those bottomless pits of despair. Both offer a chance of appreciation, one for what you have and the other for what you're missing. Words paint a picture of love, passion, terror, and sorrow. Followed by thunderbolts of sounds that penetrate the soul to its inner core with each strike of the cord that produces a harmonic note. They say, ”beauty is in the eye of the beholder”, I see a beautiful angel looking at me from above. I see pure beauty in those eyes that pierce my soul and gives me strength for I am the beholder. Through the grandiosity of writing I am able to paint a masterpiece on canvas. With my words and blessings to convey my love and humbleness for this great gift of a pen, the painting takes its shape.

Writing gives me a glimpse at my life from a birds eye view. I teleport from childhood to adolescence, young man to resilient and gracious man. There’s much pain in each stage of life but much further happiness. Seeing my life from above allows me to see what was not in plain sight. Like in chess, there are many calculating and deceiving pieces at play. But also, just like in chess, there are many pieces there to protect the king, this piece is what represents my heart. This view is as vivid as the day I saw my first child open his eyes. There the final word is penned to paper and my eyes open as big as Mt. Everest because the whole time God was guiding and teaching me how to navigate this precious thing we call life. This final word is only the end to this chapter. The rest of my book is yet to be written, there’s much more lessons that need to be painted through my pen

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.