Poets logo

Giant Shade Tree

Where uglier things grow...

By Nichole CampbellPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
37

There was a monster

as she lived

Just valuable enough

For me to forgive

She came and she took

She gave a lot too

A cool look, a bruise, a book

And always an "I love you"

Mad is the monster always around

While I idealize the one's that truly let me down

No tape on their mouths

They only choked on their word's

No matter how foul

For worse or worse

They, let, her

The monster casts a big shadow

Under the shade, uglier things may grow

And when the beast did fall

Down came the great red wall

I look around now with the monster gone

None of you think that you were wrong

No guilt or shame when you hear my name

So ready to belittle her now thinking I can relate

artfact or fictionheartbreaknature poetrysad poetrysurreal poetry
37

About the Creator

Nichole Campbell

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Karissa E.L. Cuff9 months ago

    I really enjoyed this

  • Ashley Shiflett2 years ago

    Oh wow! This is beautiful!

  • Annie Edwards 2 years ago

    This is beautiful, and so deep! I love it!

  • Real Poetic2 years ago

    Love this poem.

  • Stephan A Harris2 years ago

    Sounds like a gaslighter's resume. Great work!

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    I'm not sure why but this resonates with me on many level : so I subscribed. Make us all hum a bit more!

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    Spooky...yet sweet... ;)

  • Gina B.2 years ago

    I have chills!

  • Very appealing to the macabre in me... Rock On !!!

  • Laura Lann2 years ago

    Great summary of the leftovers of an abusive relationship.

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    This so beautifully written, raw and haunting.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.