Poets logo

Ghosts of My Mind

Spoken Word Poetry When You Are Falling for Someone

By Tarun GuptaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Every thought of you brings out

inexplicable feelings of sadness and

happiness concurrently

The dreadful sadness arises because

I want to be with you, but I am not

The lively happiness shows because

there is the hope of me being with you

the emotional turmoil doesn't end here

You have now taken over the place

that was only and solely mine

my dream palace, my soul

I never thought I would share my tottering soul

but here I am trying to have control over it

I don't mind sharing my whole with you

I want to share 

but right now, my control over it is losing

I am terrified that

my grasp on surreal reality is slipping

I want you to make sure 

I don't slip so far ahead into oblivion that

it's not possible to return

but if in any scenario

I am that far gone

I want you to be there

with me clutching my shivering hand

into your calming palms

ensuring that no ghosts

of my mind ever

haunt me haunt me haunt me…

© Tarun Gupta

Thank you for reading.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tarun Gupta

A simple fellow writing stories, sharing experiences, sharing his perspective, trying to do his share of humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.