Poets logo

Ghost

Leaving Abuse

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
4

I want to be a ghost

I want to be that sharp cold whisper of air

You feel when you accidentally walk through me

As you stumble through your self-centered life

I want to be the one true love

You threw away because

You get more satisfaction out of hurting me and others

I want to be a ghost

I want to be a ghost

So you can’t hurt me anymore

Sliding in and out of places I was denied as a human

You won’t be able to blame me for your problems anymore

But will probably still try

As there’s no room for respect of others in your self-centered world.

I want to be a ghost

I want to be a ghost

So I can be away from your hatred and intolerance

And the incessant mocking of my feelings, thoughts and words

So I don’t have to listen to your constant criticism and verbal attacks

Which are nothing more than your raging narcissism and out of control ego

The need for which is more important than the people who love you

I want to be a ghost

I want to be a ghost

I don’t want to feel the way you make me feel anymore

I want away from your denial and lack of acceptance and responsibility

When you hurt people because you are afraid to examine and heal your own black heart.

I don’t want to think anymore and wonder what I have done wrong

Simply by caring for you with all my heart

I want to be a ghost

I want to be a ghost

Only existing in your non-realized memories and dreams

Which you will never regret ever sharing or having

Because like everything else

You will blame me and others for choosing to not be abused and mistreated by you

In your mind, it will all be my fault for not accepting my responsibility for your own personal failings

I want to be a ghost

I want to be the ghost that haunts you

You will not forget

- Julie O'Hara

If you like this article, please consider tipping (below) or even becoming a patron. My books can be found on my website www.sacredsloth.net or online at Amazon and Barnes and Nobles under the name of Julie O’Hara Thank you very much and blessings on your journey.

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Elle Vihman9 months ago

    Same story, new language. https://yksikhunt.com/2023/07/18/ma-tahan-olla-kummitus/ Poetry - not-so-good outcome in Estonian :)

  • Angela Derscha2 years ago

    Very powerful and somber. Loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.