Poets logo

Getting The Final Shot

From the Author of The Final Fence Series

By Marc OBrienPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Lithuanian/American Author Marc O'Brien

I surprised myself the first time I

Heard that supported crowd cry

I did not really think it was going to go in

For the win

It was my first buzzer beater

A memory that was ever so sweeter

Tenths of a seconds left

I just saw the ref

Signal the call

When the ball

Went into the net

An expected victory my team did get

Now onto another round

To stand our ground

Victors in our collegiate town

Championship bound

Higher seed almost cancelled the trip

As favorites we did slip

Letting our opponents score more

On the hardwood floor

They were ready to upset

Sending an underdog message, we would not forget

Fate had it coming down to the final shot

Emotions stirring the dramatic plot

Somehow, we had the ball last

And I was not out of gas

Receiving the orange rock

Remembered dribbling down my hometown block

Releasing a half court prayer

Using skills, I learned from a playground dare

Letting it go

As a climatic end to the two-hour show

Like it was magic I heard the diving bird swish

And in a second, I experienced my shining moment wish

Not realizing I was getting baited like a fish

Into fortune and fame

Since everyone would know my name

And all I do is play this game

In the end

I must defend

Enjoy going to class

Achieve the important grade scored as ‘pass’

A statement that says you do not have to live in the past

Wondering about the unbelievable break that was fast

Allowing you to have the center stage

At such a youthful age

Only to prepare you to answer someone’s page

When earning the legal minimal wage

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.