Poets logo

Getting high

Recovering addict admits

By Christian JohanssonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read

I get high by myself and I get high very well

With substance abuse in my past I carefully tell

These stories that wants to be written and yelled

In nothing but feelings and thoughts I will dwell

A touch of my healing has been diving through hell

The reeking stench of burnt flesh I can smell

Hello again, demon. Welcome in for a toast

What’s your approach?

Will you attack what I hold most dear to my heart?

Will you pack me up cold with fear from the start?

This time I'll just listen

Sit here and wishing

For you to not constantly bitchin

As I’m haunted into submission

When all that I want is bliss and I’m fishing

For love, freedom and peace

You always come with distractions and tease

“Please take a leap into the hole of despair”

With ease I will seek for my soul to be fair

Treating my people with kindness and care

We’re all born in this madness, I stare

Myself in the mirror when sadness is there

Taking charge when I want to get high

I invite awareness when asking me why

Seek out inside

How to be free on this wild crazy ride

Journey called life

Can I get high on my very own breathing supply?

Carefully feel and distinguish myself from the I

slam poetry

About the Creator

Christian Johansson

Nordic creature with fascination of life and living

Magic teacher Pachamama tendered my upbringing

Poetic features from the nature, wild, free, singing

Tragic preacher of cliches, yet another clinging

Magnetic stinging man of rhymes

Fan of shine

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Christian JohanssonWritten by Christian Johansson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.