Poets logo

Getting drunk on blood and poetry

Halloween inspired prompt

By Ali SPPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
13
Photo by Altınay Dinç on Unsplash

When the darkness beckons

and the eerie silence settles beautifully

I watch the moon gracefully make its debut in the sky

I snuggle comfortably in my big fluffy chair in the lamp light

Pour myself a glass

Giving a toast to the lives sacrificed

Their blood perfectly chilled over ice

*

A mouthful flows so gracefully down my throat

Leaving delightful hints around the tongue

Ignites an engine in my soul

The beginning of my drunken night

Euphoria, I welcome you

Please take me home

*

My brain functions best in this capacity

Disinhibition drives the flow of my poetic words

A feeling of satiation as those white pages

become filled with black ink and hints of my red drink

There’s no filtering for what oozes out of my finger tips

*

In the morning, I have no regrets

I begin my quest for fresh prey

It’s what my savage mind requires, so every night

I can transport myself somewhere else

Living entirely in the moment

*

The words on the page are a stark reminder

of my drunkenness in all forms

But without blood and poetry

my mind’s ability to create flawless work

would be lost

*

Why would I punish myself by abstaining from such fun?

How much crueler do you think I’d become?

...

Thank you for reading! This was poem was first published here.

surreal poetry
13

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.