Poets logo

Get Back Here

You Weren't Supposed to Go This Soon

By Paula ShabloPublished about a year ago 2 min read
3
Pixabay Free Image

Dear Father of My Children,

Get back here.

There's unfinished business you've left behind.

How dare you die before you finished with us?

You, with your stubborn unwillingness to speak to me after I "dared" to leave you.

You, withdrawing your affections from our--YOUR--children just to hurt my heart.

I had things to say to you.

I had issues to resolve.

How could you turn your back and ignore them? How could you simply go on with your life without them?

Never mind me--I didn't matter.

But they did.

As you were taking your final breaths, they were trying to decide whether to call you or leave you be.

And you couldn't even wait for their decisions, could you?

You preached from your pulpit--you King of Lies! And your congregation never had a clue about human beings you turned against for no other reason than revenge against the woman who couldn't stay.

And I couldn't. Every day was a knife in the heart. I had to go, or I would have continued to die a little each day until I disappeared completely.

But had I known who you would become without me, I would have stayed until your dying day--for them. I would have shoved the shell of what was left of me around the world to spare them your rejection.

I wanted to tell you that.

I wanted to say that you missed out on knowing the best people--our kids.

I wanted to hear you acknowledge your regrets and failures.

I know you never would have. But I wanted to give you the chance, at least.

How dare you die before I was finished with you?

How dare you leave without telling them something--anything?

Does this mean I have to stay angry with you forever?

No.

I am angry today, but it will go away--it always does.

Your impact on me has never been as strong as you believed.

But your impact on them has left scars that will never heal.

If there's a heaven--you preached that there was--you can't be there.

God would bar the Pearly Gates against a man who preached in his name while denying his own children.

On Earth, you were never forgiven because you never confessed your guilt, your sins against innocents.

There has been no resolution, no closure.

What makes you think you're forgiven in the great beyond?

I'm far from perfect, and if there's a hell below us I could very well encounter you there.

If that's so, at least I'll finally be able to give you a piece of my mind.

Damn you.

Sincerely,

The Mother of Your Rejected Offspring

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Paula Shablo

Daughter. Sister. Mother. Grandma. Author. Artist. Caregiver. Musician. Geek.

(Order fluctuates.)

Follow my blog at http://paulashablo.com

Follow my Author page at https://www.amazon.com/Paula-Shablo/e/B01H2HJBHQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Sherri Rollinsabout a year ago

    So touching and personal to me, as if we sat beside the same bedside. The reality is that there are those who do not believe they have anything to apologize for, leaving some of us with a longing to never be filled. I’m so sorry for your loss and for your children’s loss. My heart breaks seeing these words and I realize I’m not alone. It’s been eighteen years since I sat there day in, day out, for months; almost nine months pregnant and full of excitement, love, loss, grief and expectation for an apology that never came. My hopes are for your comfort and happiness. Beautiful work.

  • Mimi Sonnerabout a year ago

    *hug*

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Raw, courageous & powerful, Paula!!! Bravo!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.