Poets logo

Gestation with corpse fauna

symbiosis in expiration and inception

By Erin SmedleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Gestation with corpse fauna
Photo by Jill Dimond on Unsplash

When I die, let my swollen

body, in porcelain shadow,

forge a beacon for a gravid

blowfly. Let me divert my river,

guide her through my gorges

and toward my basin—womb. Once

found, let her lay her eggs where

mine once were, let her dam

my flow, let her drain my fluids

until I am dry, let my body crumble

around her, a cenote. When larvae

hatch I will offer what dead flesh

remains. They will consume all

of me except my heart, squeezed out

the branches of my ribcage, left

rocking in a windblown rain-pool

beside my skeletal morass,

steadily grazing my fingertips.

nature poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.