Poets logo

Generational Healing

A Promise

By Nick GrahamPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Generational Healing
Photo by Liane Metzler on Unsplash

Its been 10 years since my father has lived with me

He never taught me how to shave but do you see any marks on me?

That man is lucky he lives in a separate town,

That man is lucky I never see him around

Because after all, I am a product of his seed

and his anger and his hatred,

they grow inside me, but see,

I'm just a little bit better at hiding,

because I don't let the alcohol describe me.

I'm just lucky I had a mom who cares,

Worked multiple jobs but still needed welfare.

I promise you,

I promise my kids will never grow up without a father,

and down the aisle I will walk my daughter,

Ill be there for my son,

and his soon to be wife,

While he's in his tux,

and she's dressed in white.

I'll smile at him, and he'll smile too,

all while the flower girls throw pedals down the pews.

sad poetryslam poetryinspirational
4

About the Creator

Nick Graham

My life has been full of dichotomies, Trauma, but love. Change, but safety. Abandonment, but role models. These differences are shared in my writing and poems with a unique perspective.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.