Poets logo

Generational Curse

xx

By Carly RowePublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Generational Curse
Photo by Evie S. on Unsplash

I cannot keep fighting, I admit defeat

Helpless against forces greater than me

Like mother like daughter, the pattern repeats

She screams you hate me, she accuses deciet

Blinded by rage, my truth she will not see.

I cannot keep fighting, I admit defeat

The smaller the heart the greater the conceit

Once made for love now shrunk from tragedy

Like mother like daughter, the pattern repeats

For maternal affection I must compete

with a ghost. There’s no chance for victory

I cannot keep fighting, I admit defeat

She pours salt in my wounds, I try to retreat

Shackled to pain I long to be set free

Like mother like daughter the pattern repeats

The void without her love leaves me incomplete

Left holding instead her pain, misery

I cannot keep fighting. I admit defeat

Like mother like daughter the pattern repeats.

Family

About the Creator

Carly Rowe

Lifelong poet, aspiring writer. Finding my creative voice one line at a time.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Carly Bush6 months ago

    This hit deep. Thank you for putting words to an all-too-familiar experience.

CRWritten by Carly Rowe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.