Poets logo

Gender

and the difference it makes

By Alaric A. StrykerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am different from the rest of this world

There is simply no avoiding it

From what to who I am

I defy most defaults

I say "most" only because my skin is pale

And the skin of my family is pale

But I am not ordinary regardless

I am not a boy

Nor am I a girl

And whichever you may be makes no real difference

In how I will see you

My world is less devoid of gender

And more unaffected by it

For gender is a fickle little thing

And whatever is the use in letting your world be determined

By something so small, yet so big

By something so universal, yet so personal

I never really understood that

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Alaric A. Stryker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.