Poets logo

Futures Imperfect

Inspired by and named after novels by Connie Willis

By Vadim KaganPublished about a month ago 1 min read
6
Futures Imperfect
Photo by Aedrian on Unsplash

(Verse)

Spinning my wheels on the launchpad

Spitting I dunno and itch,

Caught in a viral don’t want ad

For an unfillable niche.

(Chorus)

Duct tape and caramel latte,

Mindlessly foaming grind,

Looking for someone to lie to

That life is well as designed.

(Verse 2)

Camera, action and - curtain!

Catch and repost and release,

Future imperfect uncertain

But it is all that there is.

(Chorus)

Duct tape and caramel latte,

Mindlessly foaming grind,

Looking for someone to lie to

That life is well as designed.

(Bridge)

Itching and spitting spit and spinning

On this launchpad of my soul,

Maybe this is the beginning

Of an unreachable whole.

(Chorus)

Duct tape and caramel latte,

Mindlessly foaming grind,

Looking for someone to lie to

That life is well as designed.

(Outro)

Spinning my wheels on the launchpad,

Spitting I dunno and itch,

Hoping we’re all just a touch mad,

That this is all just a glitch.

Stream of ConsciousnessSong Lyricssocial commentaryBallad
6

About the Creator

Vadim Kagan

I believe that each day is a blessing, every story is amazing and all poems should rhyme!

Instagram: @wines_and_rhymes

Facebook: www.facebook.com/vadimkagan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I sang this to my own tune! And now I want a caramel latte hehehe. Loved your poem!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Great lyrics. Very well done .

  • Sandra Matosabout a month ago

    These lyrics are excellent and a great tribute! The chorus is so amazing but these are my favorite two lines~ "Hoping we’re all just a touch mad, That this is all just a glitch."

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    I really liked this one! The chorus was especially strong. I can't believe I haven't heard of Connie Willis since a quick google search turned up so many awards but now I have a new writer to check out! Thanks!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.