Poets logo

Further Than I

Of Winds and Wolves

By Mark CrouchPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I yearned to dream, afraid to wake

Fleeing a land far across the sea

My heart and soul I did forsake

Now there is naught left of me

Never more would I lose nor gain

I closed my eyes and did see

In a foreign land doomed to remain

A stranger was I and would ever be

I traversed a mountain to escape the roar

Roamed through fields to null the pain

Walked amongst trees to ignore the war

I could not hope nor could I feign

My heart remained behind a door

My spirit hid well beneath scar

Only in sleep did I truly soar

To dream of my home lands afar

I raised my eyes unto the sky

The weight upon my soul it did mar

And prepared myself to say goodbye

Then glimpsed her in a falling star

I turned away to forget

and did divert my eye

But alas I found I had to repent

For she had come much further than I

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mark Crouch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.