Poets logo

funeral rune

A vikings death

By Samuel BitnerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

The water whispers of tragedy and the flames dance like madness. I can feel you here with me. A part of me wants you to know this violent sadness I endure. It is not your burden to know and the weight feels heavier than I could have ever imagined. I will take the lashings with honor. I will live like a tribute for you. The air holds frigid regrets that must be devoured in the forge. Slowly but surely I will conquer this task. I hear the crows and ravens gathering as if the funeral must be celebrated. Wild cackling can be heard all the way up into the mountains. Some sense of grace is felt in your release. I pray you fly with faith and never forget us. For, I will never forget your light and the story of our journey together.

As I linger for a moment in the silence I feel the war approaching. An opportunity to prove this flesh and its power to maintain a stead fast will. My strength is in the mind. This body a tool. The wolves lead me to the truth. They embraced the agony in my soul and showed me the path of an enlightened warrior. As dawn approached so did another wave of sorrow.

We raced into the wood where witches left ashes of a burning. Something like a desire within a curse swarms. Surrounded our backs against the wall we found the ability of resistance. No god was coming to save us. No king could prepare us. Only instinct and fire was left to keep us from dying in betrayal. Blood spilled soaked the earth and awakened the legend of survival. To transcend time and space is a blessing.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Samuel Bitner

I want to share the energy of my writings. It comes from an infinite place I listen to often.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.