Poets logo

Function

Growth comes with changes…

By HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
24

I was Bruised

I felt Broken-

I was Blinded

But I kept Going-

This is my Life

I didn’t choose it-

It was given to me

I’m a Blessing -

I had to dig down inside,

And I drank down

My Pride…

So I can Function!

My Blessings stand

Waiting

For me, but

Still I

Gotta Function!

I was left out

At 17

Trying to

Find my

Way

Through

The Urban

Streets…

With The Fighter

Soul inside of

Me

I had to Function...

No Thought

Of

Giving up...

My biggest

Passion

Was Too

Succeed!

How

Could

I

Accomplish

Such a Thing,

Being

Surrounded

By so

Much Misery?

But I

Had to

FUNCTION!

excerptssocial commentarysurreal poetry
24

About the Creator

HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)

Welcome to “My Public Diary “🤪💖

Your Mind is

A Wonderland of

Your Imagination

Make it Beautiful!

🎉I am an Actor, Model, Writer, and Entrepreneur ❤️❤️🙏

Send Tip$🍀 ❤️😉Send Hearts and Add insights if you'd like 😍 ✨💯😉❗

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    This is a very good poem juxtaposing surviving with thriving. Well done!

  • We do what we have to do. To paraphrase what the martian says in "The Martian", all we have to do is solve the next problem. Once we've solved that one, we work on solving the next. If we solve enough of them, we get to survive.

  • This is so beautiful

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    So much in so few words! ❤️ Great 👍

  • Celia in Underland6 months ago

    So sad but so beautifully inspiring 🤍 Loved it!

  • Gosh this was so tragic yet so inspiring! Such a powerful poem!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This is great.

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    So inspiring! I hope that this piece makes TOP STORY! Great job broski!

  • Deasun T. Smyth6 months ago

    Inspiring, this was really good.

  • Bravoo, you did it again huh 🤗

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    A punch in the gut that tells you to shake it off and keep going! Love this one! 💖

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Just remember, no one has ever succeeded until the have failed first. ♥️Hugs

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Love this, Handsome

  • Mark Graham6 months ago

    Way to go and keep going.

  • Good work Lonzo. Good word flow!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.