Poets logo

Full moon, passion's delight

and dark shadows

By Novel AllenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Full moon, passion's delight
Photo by Sierra NiCole Narvaeth on Unsplash

There is a full moon out tonight, the streets are wet and luminescent

Newly washed by cleansing rain, it invites a leisurely stroll

Tall stately lamp posts cast their barely perceptible shadows upon

The new untrodden ground

The wind is moaning a lullaby, and whipping the leafless trees into

a frenzy

Dark and ominous skies observe from above, unusual for a night

With such a glorious moon

The neatly landscaped pathways sit eerily deserted

No signs of life anywhere, but for a lone bird, perched

high atop a solitary limb

A 'night owl', like me, delighting in night's splendor

Early Spring flowers are peeking their virgin bulbs

for all to see

It is a darkly wondrous night

A grand portrait, for those with romance in the heart

It is a perfect night for a lover's stroll

As I amble along the tree lined pathway, with it's

florescent avenue of dimmed lights

I begin to reminisce

Of dreams of perfect love, and first caresses

Became lost in moonlit kisses and passionate embraces

Not being in the actual moment in time

I failed to see him emerge from the shadows and

Emanate like a wisp of cloud, beneath one well lit

And seemingly naked lamp, it's glow so bright

"Do not be alarmed, I mean you no harm." He declared

quite soberly

Though with a hint of an impish smile

I uttered not a sound, for I was not alarmed or afraid

Slightly nonplussed and a little perplexed

We both stood staring into each others eyes like long known

lovers, with tender secrets unfolding

He was handsomely rugged. Dark eyes speckled with unchecked

playful, and barely perceptible laughter

Medium built and smartly dressed for the weather

He was a delicious sight for lonely eyes

I, a little dumpling of a woman, barely more than five

feet tall

With not a thought of a miracle emerging from this darkly

shrouded magical night, was secretly thrilled

We stood there forever, or what felt like forever just

drinking and inhaling each other

Finally, he gently touched my shoulder

"I have observed you for a while now, our chance to finally

engage is a portent ordained"

Awaking as if from a dream, I smiled at his folly

Why does he seem so familiar to me, have I met him somewhere

before

In another life maybe

Involuntarily, I reached for his hand

Am I crazy? This stranger feels like home

He took my proffered slightly trembling hand in his

And with a gesture with his other, towards the path

We walked in silence for a while

We found benches in the nearby park, we sat

Fervently we talked for hours, exploring each other's inner secrets

And life dreams, huddled on that bench, oblivious

Until the cold finally

Reminded us to seek warmth, or catch our death of cold

We stood, reluctantly, and retraced our steps

He walked me home

My instincts have not failed me before

I trusted they would be true to me now

I tenderly reached up and touched his cheek

He grabbed my arm and crushed my body to his chest

I held him tight

This was heaven, and I wanted to live there

When we finally pulled apart, he cupped my face in his hands

Gently kissed my lips, stuck his hands in his pockets and

Smiled a satisfied, if a little smug smile

The nerve of the man

I was elated

Taking a deep promise filled breath

I exhaled in delight

For the future now promised unleashed passion

And heated romance

With my number etched on his forearm, I bid him

Goodnight! Adieu, be safe

His sojourn was not far

Next morning my doorstep was adorned with a lovely

bouquet, and a note

My chariot would be here at seven sharp

Do not be late! So bold

The cheek of the man. Our first date

Forever awaits, the night gods have ordained.

N.A.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.