Poets logo

Full Moon In My Darkest Dream

Babies cry while the wolves thrive

By ravifcboultPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Full Moon In My Darkest Dream
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

I had a dream so wild and dark

I found myself lost in an Indian forest park

The trees were tall, the air was still

But something lurked, an unseen thrill

I heard the howls of wild wolves close by

Their cries sent shivers down my spine

I tried to run, but my feet were stuck

I was trapped, with nowhere to duck

Then I heard it, a baby's cries

It was the same one that had died

In a hospital bed, just the other day

I saw it happen, in a cruel display

But in my dream, the baby was alive

Trapped in a cage, barely able to thrive

I tried to save it, but it was too late

The wolves closed in, it was my fate

I woke up in a cold sweat

This crazy dream, I'll never forget

The crying screams, the wild wolves' song

It all lingered, even after I was gone

**********************************************************

slam poetrysurreal poetrynature poetry
Like

About the Creator

ravifcboult

Writer. Model.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.