Poets logo

Frustrating

imagery for a frustrating day, accompanying "Serene" poem

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Frustrating
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Driving in traffic and racing against time

any moment the clock will hit nine

its finally your turn to move off

but it turns red and leaves you mouthing off

-

Walking along already pretty steamed

you turned the corner and quickly screamed

a cyclist drove into you with his face aghast

and you shout: “Why you going f***ing fast!”

-

You're dressed to impress and filled with stress

as you walk to your interview confident and with high hope

a bus flies by on your left and makes a mess

you feel the universe is laughing to provoke

-

You’re changed and walk up to reception

with a smile, ready to start your career

you’re greeted and told you’re wrong in your perception

the interviews were yesterday, and you weren’t here

---

If you think this is too much frustration, check out the accompanying poem for some calm

social commentary

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    My jaw literally dropped at the ending. Imagine going through all that just to find out the interview was yesterday!

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Great piece, Mohammed! This was so stressful and reminded me of an interview I went to when we first moved to NYC. I had practiced the train schedule the day before, but the day of the interview, the train was running on a different track. It was pouring rain, and my umbrella kept turning inside out. The hem on the leg of my pants just decided it was done and unfurled, so I stopped and bought tape to fix it. Somehow I made it to the interview on time, soaking wet. As I left the interview, I had a string of tape dragging off the back of my pants like a streamer. lol! I just relived that moment through this piece. I did get the job, despite the chaos. Is this a true story for you? I hope not! I have to go read your Serene piece to grab some peace:)

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    Oh man! How frustrating! Beautifully written.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    A frustrating day, indeed! Well done, Mohammed!

  • Test9 months ago

    This poem is a reminder that even when we're prepared for the worst, things can still go wrong."

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.