Poets logo

Frustrated!

I Try and Try, But I Cannot Do It!

By Steffany PopePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
6
Frustrated!
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

I try and try but I cannot do it.

Trying to articulate the words the way I see fit.

I see post after post, story after story,

Write it down! Grab a pen, the words forgotten there shortly!

Argh! Frustrated!

Commending remarks from my literacy professor,

Yet I cannot find the words that wouldn't feel any lesser.

He says "Your work is always so impressive!"

Doc says "This may be turning your PTSD into a manic depressive."

Ugh! Should I give up?! I'm just so frustrated!

I try and try but I cannot do it, I cannot find the words that would set me free!

I dream of the words that would suffice, but that just pulls me further from reality.

I can write lyrics to a song that isn't mine,

Dear brain must you be so unkind?

Why must you lead me astray?

Are you not mine, that you disobey?

Ahh! Come on man! So deeply frustrated!

I can bring life to other people's thoughts, make you see rainbows in the night,

Even when I drive I could mentally write down at least two verses, and that's when the traffic is light.

What is wrong with me?!

Nothing seems to help, not even therapy.

Oh my Lord! I am so frustrated!

I try and try, and yet, I cannot do it...

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, love, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Steffany Pope on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create, just like everybody else. I also happen to say what most are thinking, but are hesitant on saying out loud...

Check it out... Thank you in advance!

surreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetry
6

About the Creator

Steffany Pope

Dealing with mental health problems has been hard. I've lived my whole life believing that no one understood me. I realized, my mind is not for others to understand; but for my edification of self awareness. So, I write to understand me.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    I hear ya. I too sometimes feel this way. Hope things get better fot you. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    I feel the frustration in the poem, Awesome work and used of words 🥰

  • Nice piece💕💯Keep Writing ✍️

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    And from your frustration, you have a poem. Well done! Keep writing and I will keep contacting you...you did take my closer! ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.