Poets logo

Fruit Fly by Lolly Vieira

I wrote this poem about my abusive ex.

By Lolly VieiraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Fruit Fly by Lolly Vieira
Photo by Ajithkumar M on Unsplash

the fruit fly makes a buzzing sound as he slips past my ear

my left eye twitches in frustration

I’m not sure how long he has been in my kitchen

it feels like years, but I know he doesn’t live that long

a fiend for rot, he is drawn to the browning bananas on the countertop

he zips by again on the other side of my head

and my angry, flesh-covered phalanges swipe at him

unsuccessfully

I try to calm myself with a deep breath in

but just then he comes by and tickles my nose

hot air and an exasperated cry flood from my face

grasping my notebook, I move to the living room

and turn on the ceiling fan that hangs over the wrinkled leather couch

certainly, the gusts of wind should deter him

but they don’t, he’s a persistent nuisance that chooses

to brush against my eyelashes while I take a sip from my mug

disturbing every inch of my personal space

invading my home and mind

beating my peace to a pulp with his tiny wings

my anger seems to only encourage him

yet complacency is his green light to rest on my shoulder

out of all the vacant rooms in this house

all the miles of sky outside

he has chosen to pester me all day

to mock me, tease me, so easily

he reminds me of you

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Lolly Vieira

Welcome to my page where I make sense of all the facets of myself through poetry and short stories.

I'm an artist of many mediums and strive to know and do better every day.

https://linktr.ee/lollyslittlelovelies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.