Poets logo

From Red Bricks to Green Pines

My journey to find H.O.M.E

By Pamela PricePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
From Red Bricks to Green Pines
Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

I have always wondered, been curious why are most low-income housing areas and projects built with red bricks

As I journeyed to find my way home, reliving imagery evoked by Langston Hughes' "Mother to son", now with daughters and a son of my own it became transpicuous

Red; a color synonymous with stop, warning, dangerous, hazardous! As a child those red bricks were Hopeless, Oppressive, Miserable, and Empty! Being Hurt, Overwhelmed, Molested, and Endangered back then marked me with hidden and visible scars, that like the chalk outlines of the newest dead body served as a witness to the hazards and dangers that red brick represented.

Flash forward, looking at the thick green pines, that now serve as the backdrop for my kids playing ball and my husband snapping photos this past Mother's Day; the retrospective lens called life, fashioned by years of reshaping, rebuilding, and restoring; allow me now to see my way

To see my way forward, to discover my Heart, my Outcome, my Merit, and my Emancipation from the shackles of the Harmful, Ominous, Malignant, Enslavement I had known throughout my youth.

Its been quite the ride from red bricks to the green pines I now see in my own backyard. From suicidal to bridal; from motherless to motherhood and from pain to purpose, this journey has taken 41 years

Its been filled with high and lows, fears and tears, but has finally brought me Healing, Opportunity, Maturity, Euphoria.

And now I can truly say there is no place like home!

inspirational

About the Creator

Pamela Price

I'm passionate about leaving people in a better place physically, mentally, and/or just overall than they were before we met. I wear many hats in life - wife, mother, boss lady, but the one Im most proud of, most passionate about is WOMAN!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Pamela PriceWritten by Pamela Price

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.