Poets logo

From above

a poem about perspective

By Noah DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
From above
Photo by TOMMY VAN KESSEL on Unsplash

I wake up and don’t know where I am.

I look down from what seems to be a balcony and see some people; but these

people are so small.

My life looks so much bigger and better.

But how did I get here,

I can’t even remember?

I’m glad I’ve got this luxury but there’s something missing;

it is a bit lonely up here.

I should probably see how how the others are doing.

But what if they get angry at me because I’m bigger; no, they’d never do that

I need to stop overthinking.

Let me head down the elevator.

Urgh this is scary,

what other options do I have?

I step out the doors and am in disbelief.

We are all the same- but not the same, I see small details that make

everyone special.

I’m not this superior being, and do you know what

I’m quite relieved.

Now, all there is to do is go and speak to them.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Noah Douglas

Perpetually curious.

Journeyman of faith†

Runner, writer, marketer.

Some of my other work ↓

www.noahdouglas.net

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.