Poets logo

Fright Night

You’re in for a real treat, my friend. Come… stay till the end. You can trust me. Just come and see…

By Chanelle JoyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
16
Fright Night
Photo by Scott Rodgerson on Unsplash

In this dark old cemetery

Where evil & malice play

I'll meet you by the oldest grave

& we can dance among the fey

*

Don't mind those hungry zombies

They just want your tasty flesh

I'm sure they will appreciate

That you have kept it fresh

*

The vampires don't sparkle

They aren't friendly, cute or sweet

They will drain you of your blood

For them it's a delightful treat

By David Balev on Unsplash

The ghosts don't want to hurt you

They just like the chase

They will make you scream & run

While they cackle in your face

*

It's a nightmare of a party

Why don't you come on down

I'm sure we'll have a real great time

Don't mind my fallen crown

*

I promise that you will be fine

After all, we're friends you know

So take my hand & come along

& I'll never, ever let you go

*

"But, that creepy cemetery?"

You ask in a voice of heavy fear

"Why must we go there?

It's a place nobody dares to near?

Everything is dead inside,

yet we are still alive!

Can't we go someplace else,

where living things can thrive?"

*

I look at you & laugh & laugh

My face & eyes are full of glee

Oh my friend, how foolish you are

How silly of you not to see

*

"Haven't you yet noticed?"

I ask as I lead the way

"When was the last time you saw me,

out & about in the day?"

By Alex Iby on Unsplash

Your skin grows pale in the full moonlight

You stare at me in shock

"But... but... but..." you stammer,

"You didn't even knock!"

*

I smile & pat your supple cheek

You've so much yet to learn

& when you dance tonight with me

For so much more you will yearn

*

I guide you through the creaky gate

You cannot help but follow

Fear has gripped you by the throat

You cannot even swallow

*

& so you came to the cemetery

Where evil & malice play

& we met down there by the oldest grave

& danced among the fey

By Kenny Orr on Unsplash

The End

*

I do so hope you enjoyed your stay

Because, well, you’re here forever now

So give that little heart a click

I’m sure that you know how…

And so thus concludes another Fright Night

And here is where I take my bow

*

Thank so much for reading! If you enjoyed this piece, please hit that subscribe and heart button to show your support. Or, if you are feeling especially generous, drop me a tip and help me to keep being able to do what I love... entertain you with words! :)

Here are the links to some of my other works in the horror genre if you would like to check them out as well!

Cheers, Chan xx

surreal poetry
16

About the Creator

Chanelle Joy

I love painting pictures with words, whether it be in poetry or story form, or tackling a social issue in an essay or article. So take a load off and let me entertain you!

I also take commissions. Enquire at [email protected] :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.