Poets logo

Friend and Foe

A letter

By Gal MuxPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Friend and Foe
Photo by Jakov Karagonov on Unsplash

Dear Failure 

Friend and foe

The shameless thief

Who with no what if 

Sneaks in in the bright of day 

And steals my zeal and joy leaving me at bay

Covered by your dark clouds I cannot see 

You toss me around like a stormy sea 

Ship wrecking my hopes and dreams 

I watch them drift away

Leaving me feeling like there's no other way

You soak me in your torrents 

Leaving me sick and distraught 

You hover over me tight 

Like dark ghosts haunting my spirit

You act so foe 

But I still call you friend for

You teach me great lessons 

Unfair sometimes but they come with reasons 

Oh failure, cold as ice

Inspite of you soon I'll rise 

Because of you I dare to try again 

And I know more I will gain and regain 

For you bring strength 

Many times a tenth 

This is to you oh friend and foe

Dear Failure, 

A person who will not give up

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Gal Mux

Lover of all things reading & writing, 🥭 &

🍍salsas, 🍓 & vanilla ice cream, MJ & Beyoncé.

Nothing you learn is ever wasted - Berry Gordy

So learn everything you can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    A good way to look at it - builds resilience 😁

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    ❤️I like the idea of seeing failure as a friend as well, although not usually in the moment 😬😬

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.