Poets logo

Freedom

The Restrictions of Boundlessness

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
9
Freedom
Photo by Roma Kaiuk🇺🇦 on Unsplash

The blank piece of paper in front of me

Is mine, all mine, to do with what I please

No requirements to restrain me,

No outline to guide me,

Just my pen and me writing,

My imagination free-flowing;

I can go anywhere, I can be anything:

I can fly among the dragons, I can swim among the mermaids,

I can have coffee in Paris or eat sushi in Tokyo,

I can break a million hearts or have my heart broken,

I can climb the tallest mountains or stream to my heart’s content,

I can be the world’s most interesting woman or the world’s best daughter,

But I find one problem that makes my pen hover,

One problem that makes my brain halt with fear—

Where do I begin?

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentary
9

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelsey Clarey19 days ago

    This is a perfect description. Figuring out where to start always seems to be one of the hardest parts.

  • Shirley Belk21 days ago

    So much truth,,,loved this.

  • Really, it is freedom!

  • Omgggg that was so relatable hahaha. Loved your poem!

  • Kendall Defoe 24 days ago

    The best way to write is to get out of your own way.

  • Ameer Bibi24 days ago

    Amazing, you describes it very well that really nears the reality

  • D.K. Shepard25 days ago

    Ah, beginning is the hardest part! All the possibilities swelling but which one to stick to the page? Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.