Poets logo

Freedom for Us

Dash To Freedom

By John M Edwards JrPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
4
Freedom for Us
Photo by Clarke Sanders on Unsplash

Miss Harriet Tubman,

Ima run tonight. Ima get my gurl out of master's house and we'ah dash through the night. Don't know where we'ah goin, but we'ah let the North Star lead us. Don't know how to swim, but my gurl says I can hang onto her wide hips as she'ah swim us across the deep dark riva. Eyes ah strong. Eyes can fight the Black Bear or the Bad wolf. When we get across the riva, I’ah build us a raft and we'ah sale off unto our freedom.

Mister

slam poetry
4

About the Creator

John M Edwards Jr

Born in San Francisco, CA. Son of a preacher. After committing my life to Jesus Christ, I noticed the letter I wrote to God had rhyming lines. That became my first poem.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Wow. That was great. Well done.

  • This was so powerful! Very beautifully written!

  • Ward Norcutt11 months ago

    this has a clear, strong voice. I find it interesting, too, that he still has no name yet, even though he is declaring himself and his intention. ( Although he is "mister" and very clearly a Man. A subtly sophisticated piece.

  • Natalie Wilkinson11 months ago

    This is a really powerful theme to me. Once, through a long chain of books that began with a biography of Louisa May Alcott and her father, I ended up with a book on quilts and the Underground Railroad. I am a textile designer by profession and so I made a series of sketches of running and hiding with the North Star and quilt blocks. One of them has a man helping a woman out of a boat after a crossing. Your poem makes me see that scene again. How wonderful and freeing to reach that opposite shore.

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Thank you, John!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.