Poets logo

Freedom

A villanelle about being around the people who make it safe to be yourself.

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
4
Freedom
Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

I haven't felt it in a long time

My chains are breaking

Though I didn't commit a crime

***

At first, I thought I would find it alone in poetic rhyme

An inner child I thought was gone started peeking

I haven't felt it in a long time

***

Every word is another step on my climb

From the prison I was escaping

Though I didn't commit a crime

***

But life still had a bitter taste like a lime

What I was searching for was still missing

I haven't felt it in a long time

***

Until I was amid true safety, I heard a chime

And along with laughter, the bell of freedom began to ring

Though I didn't commit a crime

***

Escape from judgements and feeling covered in grime

The freedom to be me without masking

I haven't felt it in a long time

Though I didn't commit a crime

inspirationalVillanelle
4

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Excellent Villanelle 🎊

  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    Alexandria, this is such a powerful piece! I love your use of simile and metaphor to really add to the overall impact! Beautiful job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.