Poets logo

Free

How would you feel if you knew someone for a month and then they died.

By Irini OrihuelaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Free
Photo by Kristina Tripkovic on Unsplash

I barely knew you,

Yet I wept like a baby,

When I heard you died.

It toppled my world.

You were all I could think about,

For months.

I couldn’t,

Wrap my head around it.

You would think,

I had known you,

Your whole life,

With the way I acted,

But I didn’t.

I barely knew you a month.

I guess you stuck with me,

Because I never want someone,

To suffer,

And you did,

In silence.

Which is the worst way.

I am so sorry you suffered.

I’m sorry you died,

But I barely knew you.

I hope that you are free.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Irini Orihuela

An amateur poet who pretends she is Emily Dickinson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.