Poets logo

Free

simple thoughts of being free

By Jennisea RedfieldPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
AI art by self

Look at this. Look at me,

I am...

No longer bound by the laws of gravity.

I am...

No longer trapped by my own insanity.

I'll float,

In the vastness of the chainless sky.

Unfurl my once-broken wings

And let me fly!

So free,

Like a precious rock dove.

So free,

To find someone to be my love.

I'll search,

among the mass of blue, blue sky.

Just let me unfurl my once broken wings,

And let me rise and fly.

And I think about it every day,

The ways you had chained me,

Trapping me without my say.

But look at me now!

I am floating, higher and higher.

Letting myself be finally free!

I am floating now!

Far, far away from you...

I am floating now,

Letting myself be finally true.

And I am...

Free. At last, finally free!

As for you....

You will

Never...

Ever...

Have me...

Because I am free.

inspirationalFree VerseBallad

About the Creator

Jennisea Redfield

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • k eleanor6 months ago

    This brilliant and powerful. Loved your poem!

  • This felt like lyrics to me and I sang it to my own tune! Your poem was so powerful and liberating!

Jennisea RedfieldWritten by Jennisea Redfield

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.