Poets logo

free beer

(a sneer)

By Andrei Z.Published about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
56

After long hours of wandering,

And climbing up that hill,

And perplexed wondering:

Whose will am I trying to fulfill?

What was Sisyphus thinking

While dragging a boulder on his shoulders?

My wishful sinking,

And wistful drinking.

It's getting colder.

I lost the thread

I am afraid. But don't get mad,

I'll start again.

After climbing up that hill,

Fulfilling my will,

Getting to know the real

Beauty of the sunset

Which I, of course, had already met

On numerous occasions before,

But under different circumstances; therefore

I climbed that hill.

I saw a pub—that's what will heal

My weary body. And as I read, black on white:

Free beer,

I sneer at my recent doubts.

I put all of the regrets aside.

Yes, I knew with all my guts,

I came here for a reason.

I prowl closer,

And closer. And read once more...

What a... treason!

Illusions perdues

social commentaryslam poetrysad poetryheartbreak
56

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Overthinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Shivani Parekh11 months ago

    Such a well written poem Andrei! I really didn't know what to expect from the poem when I opened it, but it took me on a whole journey and the twist in the end was the cherry on top. Well done!

  • Haha oh man, I really felt for this character. I wanted them to get that free beer, what a sucker punch at the end, but really funny. So well written, took me on a little journey there!

  • Angelina F. Thomas12 months ago

    Super cool.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Andrei, this is so well written! I can't believe the audacity of that shop owner!!! This story made me smile though, thanks for that!

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    I thought I had said this already, but congrats on this getting Top Story!

  • Kim Loostrom12 months ago

    Great imagery, love the combo or existential dread with some witty humor!

  • Lynn Anderson 12 months ago

    False advertising! Congrats on a Top Story. 🎉

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Where’s the armed security? 🤣😎 Good read! Congrats 🥇🥇

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    Oh now that's just mean!

  • Fatima Khan12 months ago

    https://vocal.media/poets/a-night-with-nature

  • Scorpion12 months ago

    Great work ✍🏼👏!

  • Cezanne Libellen12 months ago

    Lol

  • dotarsojat12 months ago

    i like it !

  • Michele Hardy12 months ago

    Ooooh what a troll I love that.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉💯✨

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Haha! Great poem! You should send it their way! Maybe next time you’ll actually get a free 🍺 😂! Congrats on top story!

  • Kendall Defoe 12 months ago

    Damn funny! I knew a group that had the same name. So many disappointed faces... 😉🍺

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    That was incredibly clever! Well done and congratulations!

  • Ahamed Thousif12 months ago

    Wonderful Poem!!! Well done nice work...

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Aahhh, that ending. Well done and congrats on the TS

  • Outstanding

  • Mohammed Darasi12 months ago

    Insane how the poem was inspired by this sign! Shows inspirations comes from anywhere! And I love the ending 🤣🤣.. the disappointment at the deceitful sign

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    🤣🤣. What a tease!

  • Bot Kimsharon12 months ago

    This is one good piece

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Lured is the word that comes to mind - good job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.