Poets logo

Four for the Fool

What the cards need to tell me right now about writing... (A quadru-haiku of four minor arcana element cards pulled after the Fool card.)

By Conor DarrallPublished about a year ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
2
Rendered by Dall:E

Dedicated to Æ.

1. Coming from/After overcoming: Three of Swords (Air)

Public Domain image of Rider-Waite tarot deck card

Threes are expansion,

Storms are outside our control.

Air out stale, dead thoughts.

--

2. Currently encountering: Three of Pentacles / Three of Mountains (Earth)

Public Domain image of Rider-Waite tarot deck card

Stonemason will carve.

Time to start the project plans,

Real art is afoot.

--

3. What is to come? The Nine of Cups (Water)

Public Domain image of Rider-Waite tarot deck card

Success at long last!

The cat has got the cream now.

Embrace well-earned smiles

--

4. Æ. asks what tools/copings skills the cards have to offer Conny's writing career : Ten of Wands - (Fire)

Public Domain image of Rider-Waite tarot deck card from wikimedia

Man, burdened with wands

Could signify burnout close.

End of the cycle!

--

(These cards were pulled with a distinct concentration on asking the deck about my novel 'The Forgotten Forty-Seven' and my writing in general. My darling friend Æ. helped me to pull and interpret the cards for the purposes of this poem. [Author Update November 2023 - we are now engaged and planning to get married in the new year. Life is fucking bonkers.]

I'm amazed by how accurate the cards were that we pulled. I am indeed a bit burned out (personal life, injuries, health, mental health, writing a novel, incapacitation etc etc) but I need to focus on finishing this project before I can start anything new. Wish me luck!

If you ever want a reading, let me know! I'm learning the ropes myself :)

listinspirationalexcerptsart
2

About the Creator

Conor Darrall

Short-stories, poetry and random scribblings. Irish traditional musician, sword student, draoi and strange egg. Bipolar/ADD. Currently querying my novel 'The Forgotten 47' - @conordarrall / www.conordarrall.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I enjoyed this unique take on the challenge! Great haikus and also super cool that you know how to read tarot. :) I know nothing about them but am intrigued. :)

  • Colt Hendersonabout a year ago

    Nice poems. I have never tried tarot cards.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.