Poets logo

Found

"My Colors Is Whatever I Say It Is" By Waters

By K. WaterssPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

You put me in a dress when I was 2 and called it MY CHOICE

You say nothing about my light up spiderman shoes

You say little girls like dolls and this and the other

You say so many things like "You have a birth mother"

I try to wrap this around my head while you tie up my bows

I'm thinking about how this works

While you're telling me about perks

It's my brothers birthday and I'm wearing a dress with tennis shoes

Pictures get sent in the mail and I'm sifting through

Trying to find people that "look like you"

Dad

You tell me that my birth father wasn't in any

I feel sick in my belly and dizzy in my head

I'm screaming in your arms and wondering how his not being there is different from him being dead

These answers are out of my reach

these conversations are none nor in question

"What clothes do you want today"

I wasn't worried about dressin

Everyone has something to say

"whos your REAL mom" is again the question of the day

I wore my hair loose because I didn't think about asking for bows

Maybe I didn't like them, I don't know

Maybe I was tired of people messing with my hair

When I got older people started saying I should dress high and talk low

Hold her purse and wear his shoes

Hide you but don't get confused

On my Facebook at home, I put "DAD" in the search bar

I never really knew what I wanted to hear.

Took me a long time to figure out I was queer.

art
3

About the Creator

K. Waterss

Poetry has been my life for as long as I can remember. It's the only other thing besides my daughter that makes sense to me most days.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.