Poets logo

Forward

Optimism

By Chris GrieschePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2022
37

Flipping through the pages of my mind

I need something new to find

To discover thoughts yet to be written

Open up ideas to fit in

Between these margins and lines

Deciding on whether or not it rhymes

But being clouded by my crimes

Of the past, they haunt my dreams

Thinking of all my schemes

Remembering the times I was wrong

The person I was wasn’t strong

But I’m moving forward now

Even when I don’t know how

I’m gonna make it through

But I need to be true

To myself and others

Come out from under the covers

And be an honest me

And I know honestly

My best has yet to come

And I know that some

Don’t believe that I’ll succeed

I know they won’t even bother to read

The words that I write

I’ll still sleep soundly at night

Because I’m finding new meaning

I’ll do more than just dreaming

I don’t need to rise to the top

Just keep moving and never stop

A smile on my face is the goal

A real one that comes from my soul

No more anger or fear

Love is all I’ll revere

I’m not there yet

But this year I reset

The journey now started again

I gained power when I picked up the pen

And it feels good to know my dreams

My aspirations like a diamond gleams

I’ll achieve all, and rid my sorrow

Maybe not today or tomorrow

But someday coming

From my throat I’ll be humming

And I’ll be grinning ear to ear

Not worried about shedding a tear

I can’t wait for this day to arrive

When I’ll be able to thrive

But for now I’ll just try my best

And continue forward on this quest

art
37

About the Creator

Chris Griesche

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • James david2 years ago

    very well

  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    Loved and subscribed! Can't wait to read more of your work! Consider having a look at mine and if you like it, please subscribe... there's a lot to come! I look forward to seeing more of your work!

  • YES. Love the optimism here, pushing forward even if no one else sees the progress but you - and honestly at the end of the day the progress is the thing <3

  • La Coulon J2 years ago

    💕💕💕

  • Great poem…

  • Thai Sha Na2 years ago

    This poem is very well written

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    I think this is a very moving and interesting poem you've given us. Encore!

  • La Coulon J2 years ago

    Thanks for sharing such a great article!

  • Lovely

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.